Saturday, 30 August 2014

Young KLCA Players Perform

Report by Amirul Mohamad

The 10th Asian Schools Chess Championship 2014 just concluded with the Prize-Giving ceremony at the tournament venue i.e. Washington High School in Taichung, Taiwan.

Immediately after, a farewell banquet was hosted by the organisers. The hospitality extended by the organisers were second to none. From escorting newly arrived players/accompanying persons to the food counter at the nearby mall to order food on behalf as most cashiers do not speak English to forming a line from the bus door to the venue whilst holding umbrellas to ensure that players/guests are covered from the rain, the organisers had certainly set new standards not seem before!

Against this backdrop, Players from KLCA performed well and will be coming back with a newly minted FM and WFM as well as 2 CMs. Fresh from the Tromso Olympiad, WCM Tan Li Ting could have skipped the last 2 rounds and still win the title. Rather wisely, she did not do so and emerged undefeated in the combined Girls U1517 category with a 100% record of 9 wins from 9 rounds and making her Malaysia's newest WFM.

Not to be outdone, Dilwen Ding also managed to remain undefeated in the 7-rounds round-robin category with 6 points coming from 5 wins and 2 draws to emerge champion in the U17 event and thus will be Malaysia's newest FM. In the U13 Open category, Ng Jeng Sheng faced a last round match which he could not afford to lose in order to finish at least third. He drew the game with a player from UAE and finished the event on 6.5 points and got third place which entitles him to be a CM.

The baby of the team, 7 year old Amir Faiz Amirul also faced a last round match which was must win in order to finish amongst the medals. Playing against a Sri Lankan opponent which he had previously played against in last year's championship, he secured the full points and finished the championship with 7 points. While level on points with the eventual champion from India, he lost out on tie-break to be the runners-up and as consolation will become Malaysia's youngest CM. 

Overall, a splendid outing by the KLCA players and congratulations to all parties involved are in order.

See full details at:

Monday, 16 June 2014

KLCA to participate in the 8th Asian Dragons International Chess Tournament 2014

The Kuala Lumpur Chess Association will be sending a team to participate in the invitational 8th Asian Dragons International Chess Tournament 2014.

A long time developmental event eagerly looked forward to each year by players from Taiwan, Macau, Hong Kong and South Korea, there are two sections, Open and U-16, but players have to be rated under 2200. 

Traditionally Singapore is the only other country invited to join the four above and its representatives often win the bulk of prizes available.

Held in Taipei from 12-19 July 2014, and played over 9 rounds using the Swiss System with a time control of 90 minutes plus a 30 second increment from move one, this FIDE rated event is a wonderful opportunity to KLCA juniors to gain valuable exposure.

Members interested are to contact Peter Long immediately as limited places are available and will be on a first come first served basis.

Sunday, 4 May 2014

Congratulations Masters Champion Tan Li Ting!

Photo courtesy of Andrew Ooi

The Kuala Lumpur Chess Association congratulates Tan Li Ting on winning the Malaysian Masters held from 30th April to 4 May 2014 with 6.5/9, one point clear of the rest of the field.

Our current national junior champion, Li Ting also qualifies for the coming Tromso Olympiad.  

Friday, 11 April 2014

It's Three Times in a Row for Tiviakov

(Group photo before final battle - some sadly absent without zero start enforced - and so still at breakfast)

Sergei Tiviakov and Aravindh Chithambaram drew their game after three hours of play, a result that confirmed that Tiviakov would successfully defend his title and in doing so become a three time winner of the KL Open.

But for young Chithambaram, it was also a fantastic result as with the draw the 14 year old IM elect remained unbeaten and also achieved his second GM title norm.

So in first place is Tiviakov with 7/9, and in second to eighth places on 6.5/9 are Chithambaram, the also unbeaten M.K. Venkatesh, Nguyen Duc Hoa, Dzhumaev Marat, Haridas Pascua, Nguyen Anh Dung and Andika Pitra.

For Pascua, this result was his third and final norm to complete the requirements of International Master while for Pitra it was his second International Master title norm.


Round 9 Board 1 Live

Thursday, 10 April 2014

It Promises to be an Exciting Last Round

(Tiviakov against the always dangerous Marat, the game was double edged but still only a draw)

The advantage is clearly with Sergei Tiviakov who on 6.5/8 has a half point lead and his favourite White pieces in the last round.

But it may not be over yet as his opponent is the highly rated 14 year old FM Aravindh Chithambaram who last year shot into prominence by winning the Chennai GM Tournament held concurrently with the Anand-Carlsen Match and has continued to impress with every tournament.

Chithambaram is sharing second-third places with M.R. Venkatesh on 6/8.

In a big group a further half point behind, 5.5/8 are Deepan Chakkravarthy, Nguyen Duc Hoa, Kirill Kuderinov, Nguyen Van Huy, Dzhumaev Marat, Haridas Pascua, Niaz Mursehd, Nguyen Anh Dung, Ramnath Bhuvanesh, Richard Bitoon, R. R. Laxman and Pitra Andika.

The leading Malaysian is still IM Jimmy Liew with 5/5 and he faces fellow IM Moulthon Ly with hopes of further turning back the clock.

Wednesday, 9 April 2014

Tiviakov leads by one with two to go

A tense top board encounter ended with top seed and defending champion Sergei Tiviakov taking a one point lead with two rounds to go. The acknowledged master of the minimal advantage once again showed this special talent with the advantage of the white pieces.

For Moulthun Ly, a win, even a draw, would have all but ensured his maiden grandmaster title norm but he made his 2600 rated opponent work very hard indeed.

So Tiviakov has 6/7 to be alone in first place while on a large group sharing second to twelveth places on 5/7 are Ly, Richard Bitoon, John Paul Gomez, Nguyen Van Huy, M.R. Venkatesh, Nguyen And Dung, Niaz Murshed, Dhzumaev Marat, Pascua Haridas, Aravindh Chithambaram, and Kirril Kuderinov.

With his win over Fong Yit Ho, veteran IM Jimmy Liew is now the best of the Malaysians with 4.5/7, Yit Ho joining another loser in Yeoh Li Tian and a winner in younger brother Yit San on 3.5/7. 

Tuesday, 8 April 2014

We Have Two Leaders, Many Challengers

With his second successive win Mouthun Ly has joined Sergei Tiviakov on top of the leaderboard with 5/6 and is now also in contention for a GM title norm.

Ly beat fellow IM Nguyen Huynh Minh Huy while Tiviakov with the black pieces took a quick draw against John Paul Gomez. Both leaders will now meet in round seven.

Sharing third to eight places on 4.5/6 are Gomez, M.K. Venkatesh and Nguyen And Dung who drew each other, Niaz Murshed and Richard Bitoon who also drew each other, and Nguyen Van Huy who joins them after an easy win over Mari Joseph Turqueza.

Two young players who are impressing are 17 year old WGM Medina Warda Aulia (photo above) and 15 year old FM Aravindh Chithambaram (photo below) and are showing they easily belong amongst the group on 4/6. Both are unbeaten despite playing numerous grandmasters and are in contention for the International Master title norm.